Principal Chief’s Awards given to Area Students

by May 19, 2011COMMUNITY sgadugi, Front Page0 comments

Principal Chief Michell Hicks presents a Principal Chief's Award to Kendall Toineeta from Cherokee Middle School during an awards ceremony on Monday, May 16. (DENISE WALKINGSTICK/One Feather contributor)

                Principal Chief Michell Hicks gave out the annual Principal Chief’s Awards on Monday, May 16.  The awards are presented annually to two EBCI students from each of several area schools.  Students are chosen who exhibit leadership, community involvement, tribal citizenship and exemplary grades and test scores.  Each student receives a certificate from Principal Chief Michell Hicks and a $100 check. 


Cherokee Elementary – Byron Jase Locust, Shelby Elisabeth Wolfe

Cherokee Middle – Kendall Toineeta, Xan Sandongei

Cherokee High – Katlin Bradley, Skyler Bottchenbaugh

Robbinsville Elementary – Lydia Lynn Crowe, Forrest Long

Robbinsville Middle – Alvaro Cruz Galaviz, Katelyn Black

Robbinsville High – Tessa Marie Lane, Adrian Contreras Smoker

Smokey Mountain Elementary – Scarlett Guy, Shawn Ethan Larch

Smokey Mountain Middle – Davan LeBrea Fourkiller-Raby, Samuel Raymond Arneach

Smokey Mountain High – Chelsea Aimee Cucumber, Kristan Nicole Cucumber, Dusty Wolf French

Swain East Elementary – Nolan Arkansas, Alyssa Haymond

Swain West Elementary – Brodie Seth Bowman, Hazel Chole Spirit Otter

Swain Middle – Chloe Elizabeth Blythe, Cordell David Green

Swain High – Christian Tyler Taylor, Katlin Roberts

– TOP Office