Final deadline in Cobell Settlement, EBCI tribal members owed monies

by Oct 17, 2017General Announcements0 comments


Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP, Class Counsel in the Cobell v. Jewell (formerly Cobell v. Salazar) lawsuit, along with GCG, the court approved Claims Administrator, are seeking to locate members of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians who are entitled to participate in the settlement of that lawsuit. The Cobell case was filed in 1996, settled in December 2009, was approved by Congress in December 2010, and received final court approval in November 2012. The total settlement, $3.5 billion, is one of the largest class action settlements against the federal government.

The Cobell case resolves certain claims relating to mismanagement of individual Indian money (“IIM”) accounts and individual trust assets by the federal government. There are approximately 500,000 individuals who are eligible to participate in this settlement. This includes principally individuals who had IIM accounts between approximately 1985 and September 30, 2009 and individuals who owned trust or restricted land as of September 30, 2009.

The US District Court for the District of Columbia has ordered Monday, Nov. 27 as the final deadline for Class Members in the Cobell Settlement or their heirs to submit documentation to Garden City Group, LLC (“GCG”), the Claims Administrator, so that payments can be made. All documentation must be received or postmarked by that date

The determination of a final deadline marks the end of a successful and exhaustive effort by Class Counsel and GCG to find and pay hundreds of thousands of Native American Class Members and their heirs. Those efforts have been incredibly effective, and to date almost $2 billion dollars or over 92 percent of the funds have been distributed. After the deadline, unclaimed funds will be paid out to the Cobell Scholarship Fund administered by Indigenous Education, Inc.

Below is a list of individuals identified by the Department of the Interior as living or deceased members of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians who may be entitled to a payment. Class Members or their heirs wishing to submit documentation to GCG for review via email at or U.S. mail to P.O. Box 9577, Dublin, OH 43017-4877. For more information about the Settlement and to read the Court’s order, visit You may also call (800) 961-6109 if you are an heir and have questions regarding acceptable documentation.  To retrieve your IIM number please call Sheree Steve (615)-564-6933.



Andy Chickilelie, Jr. Angela Moore Whitley
Angela Marie Nelson Angela Renee Eller Wilson
Ann Rena Howell Ensley Anthony P. Kekahbah Estate
Antonio Eugene Smith Arthur Burgess
Bert Sherrill Estate Bobbie Anaweg Walkingstick Stewart
Brenda Joyce (Thompson) Lossiah Brenda Rose Dyer Fisher
Brian Kenneth Tahbonemah Callie Laverne Ben Littlejohn
Cassandra Michelle Graves Herrin Charles Deeluquadag Crowe
Chet William Chubonie Clara Emily Casso Estate
Leslie Clement Ensley Colleena Jo Allison
Curtis Lynn Malcolm Daniel Jeremy Long
Dave Lossiah Estate David Kristopher Owle
David L. Martin Estate David Wayne Calhoun
Davy Lamar Taylor Estate Dawnena Jean Arch
Delano Brown Owle Estate Denise Ralyne Smoker Rattler
Dennis L. Teesateskie Estate Diana Lynn Cardiff
Donna Jean Snead George Dwayne Edward Swayney
Eddie Ray Bradley Edgar Hugh Roberts Estate
Edna Faren Price Galindo Edward Daniel Driver
Elaine Hope Welch Garcia Elizabeth Ann Bradley Howell
Elizabeth Ann Driver Ensley Elizabeth Dortheve Murphy  Fouts
Elizabeth Renee Plummer Ellis Edgar Larson
Charles Thomas Smith Ernest Lynn Ross
Ethel Bradley Denton Estate Fred Howard Biddix
Frederick Lee McCoy Gina Raquel Younce Estate
Henderson Junior Climbingbear Henrietta Dinah Sherrill Welch
Howard Raymond Jackson James Alfred Bigwitch Estate
James Randall Driver Estate James Ronald Reid
James Wayne Jenks Estate Jason Dion Bradley
Jefferson Samuel Owle Jeffrey Hugh McCoy
Jenna Michelle DuPree Jenny Fay Maney Wilson Estate
Jenny Rana Jenkins Smith Estate Jesse Paul Wilson Estate
Jessica Cher Smith Jimmy Ray Wilson, Jr.
Joanna Jane Martin Jodele Bobi Caretto Plunkett
John Alfred Driver John Clyde Lambert
John David Crowe John David Harris
John David Moore John Edward Saloli Lossiah
John Frederick Lossiah John Robert Smith
John Wesley Lambert Johnnie Ray Arch
Johnson Lee Taylor Jonathan Matthew Ashe
Judy Regina Bird Justin Barrett Gourley
Jon Nathaniel Crowe Katherine Tara Saunooke Alexander
Kathryn Eleanor Geeting Cline Kelly Michelle Owle Heightchew
Kenneth Michael Mahoney, Jr. Kimberly Ann Taylor Jenkins Estate
Kimberly Dawn Saunooke Kristina Marie Haigler
Lance Owl Williams Larry Albert Bigwitch Estate
Larry Lee Hornbuckle Bo Soap Lossiah
Laura Irene Saunooke Rich Estate Lawrence Ralph Lambert
Lee Harrison Ledford Estate Letisha Nicole Bird
Lori Jo Queen Keen Madison Paige Hornbuckle Estate
Margaret Lou Bradley Johnson Estate Margaret Marie Bradley Clarke
Marlene Elaine Armachain Martha Wynona Faye Deck Luna
Mary Ellen Catt Thomas Estate Mary Murphy Estate
Matthew James Murphy Melissa Dawn Rowland Moore
Melissa Jeanne Wade Melessa Leanna Taylor
Mia Faye Lambert Michael James George
Michael Joseph Rattler Michael Ray Zepeda
Michael William Rhinehart Michelle Renee Burgess
Mildred Lorraine Smith Stamper Estate Mistie Rae Johnson Scott
Monique Taylor Sokol Myra Charlene Long Wooliver
Natalie Suzane Saunooke Ned Wolfe Estate
Nelson Heart Norma Michelle Rattler Estate
Norman Leroy Reed, Jr. Patrick Bradley Allison Estate
Patrick Daniel Lee Paul Richard Walk Estate
Ralph Moses Smith Renissa Lee McLaughlin
Retha Jolynn Blythe Estate Richard Allen Wiggins
Rindy Michele Brady Comer Robert James Walk
Robert Lee Calhoun Estate Robert Larry Moore
Rodney Lee Walker Ronald Sequoyah Bowman
Ross Kedoog Escobedo Royal Marty Catolster
Samantha Renee Jumper Martin Estate Sean David Ross
Shelley Angelita Webb Ramirez Sherry Carmelita Webb Lusk
Stacy Bigwitch Estate Starlene Elizabeth Swayney Balderas Estate
Stephanie Dorothea Rebaza Stephanie Dale Wildcat
Stephen Jarret Bradley Steven Timothy Cramer, Jr.
Susan Ladonna Reed Estate Sutaga JC Anglin
Sydney Thaddeus Gordon Grant Terry L. Reed
Thomas Brandon Stephens Thurman L. Swayney Estate
Timothy R. Armachain Tina Ann Welch Saunooke
Tina Marie Owle Clark Tommy Donald Teesateskie
Tonya Jean Ledford Tonya Yvette Craig Martin
Trevor Teesateskie Denise Myers Walkingstick
Vanessa Rena Taylor Waukesha Ashley Catolster
William Decatur Davis, Jr. William Elliot Bradley
William Edward Pheasant Estate William Joseph Hornbuckle
William Jason Huskey William Taylor Jones