Cherokee residents honored at SCC Academic Awards

by May 1, 2015COMMUNITY sgadugi0 comments

SCC honors Cherokee residents

Windall Toineeta, Kevin Tafoya and Michael Slee are among the EBCI tribal members who were honored during SCC’s academic awards ceremony on Tuesday, April 14. (SCC photo)


SYLVA – More than 285 of Southwestern Community College’s top students were recognized in an academic awards ceremony on Tuesday, April 14.

To qualify for the honors portion of the program, each student had to earn a minimum of 30 semester hours of credit within the last four years by the end of the fall semester at SCC, be enrolled in the spring semester and have a cumulative Grade Point Average of 3.5 or above.

Marc Parks of Sylva received the Dallas Herring Achievement Award, and members of the state-champion Respiratory Therapy Competition Team of Noah Jones (from Candler), Benjamin Lackey (Franklin), Zachary Short (Asheville), Landen Stevenson (Waynesville) and Justin Wilson (Asheville) were honored for posting North Carolina’s highest-ever finish at the national competition in December.

Debra Taylor of Bryson City won the Robert W. Scott Leadership Award. Beam, Jones, Parks, Tyler Morrow (Lake Junaluska), Nanci Sherley (Tucker, Ga.) and Yordanka Teague (Franklin) were recognized for having been named Rotary Students of the Month.

Following are all Cherokee residents who were honored during the ceremony:  Gwynneth Bird, Associate in Arts; Marcie Blythe, Pre-Nursing (RIBN); Carolina Donner, Business Admin.-Entrepreneurship Track; Gajjan Jasani, Computer Information Technology; Laurie Lambert, Associate in Arts – Early College; Brandi Lambert, Associate in Arts – Early College; Cory Lambert, Early Childhood Education; Jill Lossiah, Medical Office Administration; Maximino Luviano, Criminal Justice Technology; James McNab, Associate in Arts – Early College; Trenton Owle, Criminal Justice Technology; Denise Panther, Therapeutic Massage Diploma; Charlotte Saunooke, Medical Assisting; Michael Slee, Business Administration; Rebecca Swayney, Early Childhood Education; Timothy Swayney, Electrical/Electronics Certificate; Kevin Tafoya, Business Administration; Windall Toineeta, Networking Technology; and Kayla Wright, Associate in Arts – Early College.