Cherokee Boys Club Report – week of June 5

by May 30, 2014NEWS ka-no-he-da0 comments


Wednesday, June 4 – Club Managers’ Meeting – 8:30 a.m.

Wednesday, June 11 – Deadline for Board Resolutions – 8:30 a.m.

Tuesday, June 17 – Health Screen – Club Lobby – 7:30 am to 8:30 am

Wednesday, June 18 – Board of Directors Meeting – 8:30 a.m.

Thursday, June 19 – Safety Committee Meeting – 11:30 a.m.



Cherokee High School Class of 2014 Graduation – May 31 – 6:00 p.m.

Unto These Hills – Opening Night – Saturday, May 31 – 8:00 p.m.

Sequoyah Classic Golf Tournament – Aug. 21 and Aug. 22





Opens:  May 19, 2014

Closes:  Until Filled

Please see the Employment Section in the edition of the One Feather for more information.



Each year, the Boys Club sponsors the Braves Achievement Awards to recognize students from Pre-K through 12th Grade who have shown the most achievement in their class over the course of the school year.  These are students who have worked hard to advance their level of learning and participation in their class.  One boy and one girl from each grade are chosen to receive an award.


This year’s Braves Achievement Awards went to the following students:


Pre-K – Reggie Thompson-Hyatt and Jamee McMillan

Kindergarten – Fred George, Jr. and Frankie Armachain

Dream Catchers – Brett Elders

First Grade – Kai Saunooke and Mica Tiger-Harlan

Second Grade – Ostani Youngdeer and Miylaya Pratama

Third Grade – Tanis Esquivel and Madison Backwater

Fourth Grade – Woodrow Lossie and Takota Sexton

Fifth Grade- Dreyton Long and Destiny Mills
Sixth Grade – Brandon Wolfe and Dorian Reed

Seventh Grade – Darius Lambert and Niobie Redus

Eighth Grade – Tristin Bottchenbaugh and Ceanna Saunooke

Ninth Grade – Jesse Queen and Jessa Sampson

Tenth Grade – Dezman Crowe and Maria George

Eleventh Grade – Ryan Walkingstick and Shadow Long

Twelfth Grade – James Cucumber and Zia Sadongei


Congratulations to each of these deserving students!



Each year, the Boys Club sponsors the Outstanding Vocational Students for the First and Second Semesters.  This year’s winners were selected from the Automotive Technology class.  The First Semester winner was Josh McCoy and the Second Semester Winner was Daniel Griffin.  Congratulations to these two young men!



Congratulations to Taran Swimmer and Jalon Lossiah for being named Co-Valedictorians for the Class of 2014.  Congratulations also to Jessica Lambert for receiving the Salutatorian honor.  We are very proud of all the students who were honored at the Academic Banquet on May 27.


The Boys Club honored the Senior Class at a breakfast at the Chestnut Tree Inn on Friday, May 30.  We are very proud of the Class of 2014 who will graduate Saturday, May 31 at 6p.m. at the Ray Kinsland Stadium.


Congratulations to Athletes of the Year – Avery Mintz and Darius Thompson and to all the winners of awards at the Athletic Banquet held on Friday, May 23.  The Boys Club sponsors six awards, for one male and one female in each category, for the athletes each year.  Winners of this year’s awards are:


Vernon Hornbuckle Memorial Christian Athlete:  Dre Crowe and Hunter Lambert


Noah Powell Memorial Leadership:  Peri Wildcatt and Tagan Crowe


Ray Kinsland Honorarium Best Sportsmanship:  Lacey Arch and Silas Reed-Littlejohn



Congratulations to Tagan Crowe, Cherokee High School Senior, who signed a letter of intent to play golf next year at Mars Hill University.  Tagan is the son of Radonna and Peanut Crowe.  Way to go Tagan!



The Club would like to congratulate one of their own by wishing Charlie Arch the best of luck on his retirement.  His last day of work was Friday, May 30.  Charlie, an employee of the Construction and Facilities Department of the Club, has been with the Boys Club since 1988.  Best wishes to Charlie!



The Boys Club sends out their sincere sympathy to the friends and family of Travis Brock Squirrell who passed away unexpectedly on Thursday, May 29.  Please keep this family in your thoughts and prayers as they go through this very difficult time.