WRESTLING: Toineeta named All-Conference

by Mar 9, 2017SPORTS di-ne-lv-di-yi0 comments


CHAMP: Anthony Toineeta (right), Cherokee senior and two-time state champion, has been named to the Smoky Mountain All-Conference team. (SCOTT MCKIE B.P./One Feather)

Anthony Toineeta, Cherokee senior, has been named to the Smoky Mountain All-Conference team.  He was also named Co-Most Outstanding Wrestler (tournament) along with Robbinsville’s Kade Millsaps.  Toineeta became the first two-time state champion in Cherokee High School history as he won the 1A 160lb state championship with a 12-0 major decision over Tanner Whitman from Rosman at the state championship meet at the Greensboro Coliseum on Saturday, Feb. 19.

Toineeta defeated Whitman by fall to win the 1A West Regional title a week earlier.  As a junior, Toineeta won the 1A 145lb state title.  In this year’s state championship, he did not concede a single point winning by technical falls (17-0) over Landen Katz, East Carteret, and (15-0) over Lucas Andrews, Avery Co., before defeating Whitman.

Robbinsville, who won the 1A State Dual Championship with a 36-31 win over defending-champions Rosewood, topped the list with six wrestlers followed by Swain Co. with five.

In addition to Toineeta, the following were named to the All-Conference team: Slade McTaggart (Murphy), Braden Millsaps (Robbinsville), Kade Millsaps (Robbinsville), Kollin Guffey (Robbinsville), Justin Stewart (Robbinsville), Drake Cable (Robbinsville), Arlus Orr (Robbinsville), Cody Swangim (Rosman), Nathan Brock (Swain Co.), William Paul (Swain Co.), Craig Cutshaw (Swain Co.), Corbin Wildcatt (Swain Co.), and Chris Miller (Swain Co.).

– One Feather staff report