State Employees Association scholarships available

by Mar 10, 2016COMMUNITY sgadugi0 comments


The State Employees Association of North Carolina will offer a total of 47 annual scholarships in 2016 for active SEANC members, their spouses and independent children.

Scholarships also will be awarded by SEANC District 1, which includes Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Swain, Jackson and Macon counties. This year a deadline has been established forĀ the first membership dues payment to be received in the SEANC Central Office by April 15. This will be a requirement in order for the member to be in good standing.

Categories are 1) Financial Need; 2) Merit, which excludes financial need; and 3) SEANC Member Only.

Applicants must be enrolled at or have applied to a recognized and accredited post secondary school, college, university, trade school or other institution of higher learning.

Information may be obtained by going online at or by contacting Amanda Allen, District 1, Scholarship Chair, 15 Holly Hills Road, Sylva, NC 28779.

All applications must be postmarked by April 15 and sent to Amanda Allen, 15 Holly Hills Road, Sylva, NC 28779.

Please note that those applying in the Financial Need category mustĀ attach a copy of the Student Aid Report (SAR) Federal Student Aid Program Information Summary. Copies of the Student Aid Report application are available at guidance counselor offices in the high schools, from college, community college, and university financial aid offices.