Cherokee takes third at Saunooke Tournament

by Dec 19, 2011SPORTS di-ne-lv-di-yi0 comments

Cherokee's Thomas Lossiah goes for a takedown against Mark Anderson, Hayesville, in the 160lb. weight class at the Chief Osley B. Saunooke wrestling tournament held at Cherokee High School on Saturday, Dec. 17. Lossiah pinned Anderson at 1:17 in the match. (DAWN ARNEACH/One Feather contributor)




                The Cherokee Braves hosted and took third place at the Chief Osley B. Saunooke tournament held Saturday, Dec. 17.  Sam Wahnetah took first place in the 285lb. weight class and Colby Yanez took first in the 145lb. weight class to lead the Braves. 

                Mitchell won the tournament with a team score of 193 followed by Pisgah 141, Cherokee 131, Ronald Reagan 81, East Henderson 59, Mountain Heritage 57.5, Franklin 51, Andrews 38.5, Swain 36, Hayesville 33.5 and Smoky Mountain 13.5. 

                Several other Braves placed individually in their weight class including: Jose Najera, 106lb.; Thomas Lossiah, 160lb.; Taylor Davis, 182lb.; Will Bird, 195lb.; and Raymond Taylor, 220lb. 

                Full results of Braves wrestlers are as follows:

* Jose Najera, 106lb., 3rd place

– pinned Tony Phillips (Mtn. Her.) at 1:06

– pinned by Drew Singleton (Pisgah) at 1:20

– pinned Garron Merritt (Ronald Reagan) at :39

– pinned Kyler Hoilman (Mitchell) at :53

* Levi Swearengin, 126lb.

– pinned Jerico French (Smoky Mtn.) at 2:57

– lost major decision (11-1) to Levi Heatherly (E. Hen)

– lost decision (7-6) to Liam Donaldson (Ronald Reagan)

* Austin Padilla, 132lb.

– pinned by Drayke Daehler (Ronald Reagan) at 3:12

– pinned Aaron Eller (Andrews) at :42

– lost decision (8-6) to Tanner Piper (Franklin)

* Jaron Bradley, 138lb.

– pinned Victor Krizan (Ronald Reagan) at 4:54

– lost decision (8-6) to Thomas Mattingly (Pisgah)

– lost decision (8-2) to Dustin Smith (Franklin)

*Colby Yanez, 145lb., 1st place

– pinned Kyle Mendez (Pisgah) at :38

– pinned Mark Wonsavage (Ronald Reagan) at 1:45

– won decision (18-6) over Jubal Church (Mitchell)

* Wade Wolfe, 152lb.

– pinned Jesse Clark (Mtn. Her.) at 1:37

– lost decision (6-4) to Cale Maddox (Hayesville

– pinned by Robert Duplak (Swain) at :59

 * Thomas Lossiah, 160lb., 2nd place

– pinned Mark Anderson (Hayesville) at 1:17

– pinned Corey Chandler (Mtn. Her.) at 1:15

– pinned by Stephen Bomar (Mitchell), no time given

* Jessica McCoy, 170lb.

– pinned by Colton Meadows (Ronald Reagan) at :51

– lost by technical fall (15-0) to Brenden Ormsby (Smoky Mtn.)

* Taylor Davis, 182lb., 2nd place

– pinned Tyler Whitson (Mtn. Her.) at :20

– won decision (16-8) over Matt Waldrep (Ronald Reagan)

– pinned Tanner Buchanan (Mitchell) at :57

* Will Bird, 195lb., 2nd place

– pinned Jakob Sayer (Franklin) at 5:55

– lost decision (6-4) to Jake Terrell (Pisgah)

* Raymond Taylor, 220lb., 2nd place

– pinned Devin Bricker (Ronald Reagan) at 1:46

– pinned Will Ferguson (Swain) at 4:59

– pinned by Kris Haney (Pisgah) at 1:29

* Sam Wahnetah, 285lb, 1st place

– pinned Balthazar Howard (Mtn. Her.) at :31

– pinned Evan Cagle (Smoky Mtn.) at 1:08

– pinned David Brookshire (Pisgah) at 1:10


Visit the One Feather photo gallery for more photos from this event: