Cherokee Youth Council gets $7K contribution from Foundation

by Oct 20, 2010COMMUNITY sgadugi, NEWS ka-no-he-da0 comments

The Graham Foundation, a family foundation in Greenville, SC, has made an $8,000 donation to the Jones-Bowman Leadership Award Program and a $7,000 contribution to the Cherokee Youth Council.  The donation to the Jones-Bowman program is the second large check from the Graham Foundation this year.

Stephen Lambert, Program Director of the Graham Foundation, presented the two checks during an October 15 meeting at Cherokee Preservation Foundation.    Lambert, an EBCI tribal member, said, “We are honored and humbled to contribute to the Cherokee Youth Council and the Jones-Bowman Leadership Award Program. We are happy to be a part of their continuing success.” 

The Jones-Bowman Leadership Awards Program helps college undergraduates who are members of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians develop leadership skills.  The program was established by Cherokee Preservation Foundation in 2007 to honor the late Principal Chief Leon Jones and Mr. James Bowman, founding members of the Foundation’s Board of Directors. 

Since the program’s start, 14 young people have received cash awards to apply to development activities such as special academic enrichment programs, travel, leadership training, and sponsored volunteer service. 

For more information about the Jones-Bowman program, contact Alicia Jacobs at 828/497-5550 or visit
 The Cherokee Youth Council was established in 2007 with help from Cherokee Preservation Foundation and the Cherokee Cooperative Extension Center. Modeled after Cherokee Grand Councils that were conducted for many generations to deliberate on important matters, the Cherokee Youth Council enables Cherokee youth to be involved in addressing issues that directly affect them It provides an atmosphere for its approximately 20 members to voice their opinions and develop leadership skills.
 Jessica Munson and Gerard Ball, who are Jones-Bowman Fellows, accepted the $8,000 grant on behalf of the Jones-Bowman Leadership Awards Program, and Karina Bottchenbaugh accepted the $7,000 grant to the Cherokee Youth Council.  Representing Cherokee Preservation Foundation (CPFdn) at the event were Luke D. Hyde (Chairman of the CPFdn Board of Directors), Susan Jenkins (Executive Director of CPFdn), Charlie Myers, Bobby Raines, Deb Mintz, Alicia Jacobs and Sasha Watty.
 – Source:  Cherokee Preservation Foundation