CHS Wrestling Team makes History

by Jan 29, 2010SPORTS di-ne-lv-di-yi0 comments


CHS wrestler Justice Littlejohn (in black jersey) pinned Swain's Ian Gilchrist Myers during their meet on Thursday, Jan. 28. (Photo courtesy of Kathy Littlejohn)

Wearing solid black uniforms bearing the seal of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians on the back, the Cherokee varsity wrestling team made history on Thursday, Jan. 28 as they became the first in school history to qualify for the State Dual Team Championship.  Individual wrestlers from Cherokee High School have competed and won at the state level before, but this is the first time the entire team has qualified. 

Cherokee qualified for state with a 42-39 win over rival Swain on Thursday.  On the week, the Braves also defeated Andrews on Tuesday, Jan. 26 by the score of 66-16. 

According to Rick Strunk, associate executive director of the North Carolina High School Athletic Association, a location has not yet been determined for the State Dual Team Championship scheduled for Tuesday, Feb. 9.  “Four schools will go to one site to wrestle two matches on Tuesday and we won’t be able to determine that particular central site until the whole field is set.  Since this sport is not held at a neutral site, we’ll have to wait and see who wins to host the final two rounds.” 

The results of the Swain meet, as provided by statistician Anthony Swearengin, are as follows: 

103lb. – Sean Webb (S) pinned Kayla Bigmeat (C) at the :56 mark

112lb. – Troy Hartline (C) won by forfeit

119lb. – Daniel Allison (S) pinned Justin Parris (C) at the 3:42 mark

125lb. – Bradley Green (S) pinned Billy Brady (C) at the 4:27 mark

130lb. – Cain Oocumma (C) pinned Cody Dills (S) at the :35 mark

135lb. – Brook Barclay (S) pinned Aaron Fritz (C) at the 1:41 mark

140lb. – Robert Buplak (S) won by forfeit

145lb. – Robert Washington (C) won by decision over Logan Woodard (S)

152lb. – Tavi Rivera (C) won by forfeit

160lb. – Corey Green (S) won by injury default over Spirit Lossiah (C)

169lb. – John Roper (C) pinned Jared Turbyfil (S) at the 1:29 mark

189lb. – Will Bird (C) won by decision over Tim Woodard (S)

215lb. – Justice Littljohn (C) pinned Ian Gilchrist Myers (S) at the 2:23 mark

Hwt. – Christian Crowe won by forfeit

The results of the Andrews meet, as provided by statistician Anthony Swearengin, are as follows: 

103lb. – Chandler Cable (A) won by majority decision over Kayla Bigmeat (C)

112lb. – Troy Hartline (C) pinned Erik Rubino (A) at the 2:15 mark

119lb. – Justin Parris (C) pinned Michael Williams (A) at the 3:30 mark

125lb. – Billy Brady (C) won by forfeit

130lb. – Aaron Fritz (C) pinned Zach Burson (A) at the 1:14 mark

135lb. – Cain Oocumma (C) won by forfeit

140lb. – Wesley Long (C) won by forfeit

145lb. – Robert Washington (C) pinned Sterling Brockwell (A) at the 2:47 mark

152lb. – Tavi Rivera (C) pinned Zach Bevins (A) at the 1:22 mark

160lb. – Phil Chambers (A) pinned Jessica McCoy (C) at the :29 mark

169lb. – Eric Arreaga (A) pinned John Roper (C) at the 4:27 mark

189lb. – Will Bird (C) won by forfeit

215lb. – Justice Littlejohn (C) pinned Derek Raxter (A) at the 3:45 mark

Hwt. – Christian Crowe (C) pinned Zachary Barton (A) at the :45 mark