WRESTLING: Braves place at James Orr Invitational

by Jan 23, 2017SPORTS di-ne-lv-di-yi0 comments




ROBBINSVILLE – Several members of the Cherokee Braves varsity wrestling team placed at the James Orr Invitational Tournament held in Robbinsville on Saturday, Jan. 21.  Anthony Toineeta, who is currently ranked number one in the state at the 160lb division, won the weight class by pinning Austin Lovin of Robbinsville.  Jesse Queen took second place in the 138lb division, and Jacob Norton (106lb.) and Seth Sneed (126lb.) both took third place in their weight class.

Robbinsville won the overall team competition with a score of 149.5 followed by Swain County 126 and Alleghany 109.  Cherokee took sixth place with a score of 79.5

Results per weight class are as follows:

106: Championship Match – Evan Wagoner (Alleghany) fall over Nathan Brock (Swain Co.); Third Place Match – Jacob Norton (Cherokee) fall over Carson Coffey

113: Championship Match – Braden Millsaps (Robbinsville) major decision 13-2 over Keith Cook (Hayesville); Third Place Match – Brenton Lawing (Cherryville) decision 8-5 over Hunter Hicks (Avery)

120: Championship Match – Jake Blevins (Alleghany) decision 5-4 over Arlus Orr (Robbinsville); Third Place Match – River Griffith (Avery) major decision 10-0 over Joseph Helton (Murphy)

126: Championship Match – Kade Millsaps (Robbinsville) fall over Alton Mull (Cherryville); Third Place Match – Seth Sneed (Cherokee) major decision 9-0 over Cameron Ponchot (Swain Co.)

132: Championship Match – Gage Wiley (Murphy) fall over Kollin Guffey (Robbinsville); Third Place Match – Lucas Brown (Swain Co.) decision 17-15 over Jaden Welch (Cherokee)

138: Championship Match – Braedon Riley Deaton (Avery) decision 12-9 over Jesse Queen (Cherokee); Third Place Match – Trent Miller (Rabun) decision 3-0 over Sam Everhardt (Swain Co.)

145: Championship Match – Britt Weaver (Alleghany) fall over William Ogle Smair (Swain Co.); Third Place Match – Kyle Thomas (Cherryville) fall over Tim Thiessen (Robbinsvile)

152: Championship Match – Justin Riffle (Cherryville) fall over Chris Miller (Swain Co.); Third Place Match – Lucas Andrews (Avery) decision 6-0 over Dustin Rector (Alleghany)

160: Championship Match – Anthony Toineeta (Cherokee) fall over Austin Lovin (Robbinsville); Third Place Match – Cody Cantrell (Murphy) decision 4-3 over Jordan Mihalke (Alleghany)

170: Championship Match – Aaron Moran (Walhalla) fall over Tyler Swanger (Hayesville); Third Place Match – Issac Wilkinson (Robbinsville) fall over Sean Kostiuk (Cherryville)

182: Championship Match – Blake Williams (Avery) fall over Allen Alexander (Walhalla); Third Place Match – Alex Ortega (Rabun) fall over Wes Hooper (Robbinsville)

195: Championship Match – Cory Farmer (Murphy) decision 5-2 over Sam Butikofer (Rabun); Third Place Match – Fredy Romero (Robbinsville) decision 3-1 over Jacob Hodge (Cherryville)

220: Championship Match – Vincent Vielandi (Alleghany) decision 4-2 over Craig Cutshaw (Swain Co.); Third Place Match – Jesus Merino (Rabun) fall over Gray Lusk (Walhalla)

285: Championship Match – Corbin Wildcatt (Swain Co.) decision 10-5 over Austin Hicks (Avery); Third Place Match – Ben Deviney (Cherryville) fall over Logan Odom (Robbinsville)