Cherokee Flight wins Boone Roundball Classic

by Mar 15, 2012SPORTS di-ne-lv-di-yi0 comments



     BOONE – The Cherokee Flight Boys Basketball team has started out their season with a tournament win.  They won the first place championship trophy in the 8th grade division at the 10th Annual Boone Roundball Classic held March 9-11 in Boone.  There were 24 teams in the 8th grade division. 

The Cherokee Flight team is shown with the championship trophy they won at the 10th Annual Boone Roundball Classic. Shown (left-right) back row – Coach Blaine Wolfe, Jerick Haynes, Damon Ledford, Nicholson Chase Fisher, Dominique Fernanders, Jayce Wolfe, and Assistant Coach Jorree Wolfe; front row – Seth Ledford and T. Smith. (Photo courtesy of Christina Panther)

     The first pool play game was against the Watauga Lightning from Boone.  The Flight won 68-23.  The next game was against the Carolina Flight team from Charlotte and the Cherokee Flight won 80-76. 

     The Cherokee Flight then started the bracket play against the Vikings from Bristol, Tenn. and won 72-35.  That win had them playing the Carolina Phenoms in the semi-finals, and it was a well earned win for the Cherokee Flight as they won 75-64. 

     With that win, the Cherokee Flight advanced to the Gold Bracket Championship Game where they faced Team Phoenix from Charlotte.  Cherokee Flight was ready for this game.  At the half, Flight was up 40-12 and finished out with a score of 52-32 to win the Championship Trophy for the second year in a row.

     “The teamwork demonstrated by all players was exceptional,” said Coach Blaine Wolfe.  “We want to thank all of our parents and fans and look forward to another successful, winning season.  We also thank everyone who came out and supported our Indian Dinner fundraising efforts on Friday, March 9.  Everyone’s support is truly appreciated.” 

     The Cherokee Flight team features several EBCI tribal members including: Coach Blaine Wolfe, Damon Ledford, Jayce Wolfe, Assistant Coach Jorree Wolfe, Seth Ledford and T. Smith.  Other members of the team include:  Jerick Haynes, Shelby; Nicholson Chase Fisher, Sylva; and Dominique Fernanders, Spindale.