Frell Owl Award nominations being accepted by CBC Board

by Nov 8, 2011NEWS ka-no-he-da0 comments

     The Cherokee Boys Club Board of Directors is now accepting nominations for the 26th Annual Frell Owl Award.  Nominees should be those who have significantly contributed to the welfare of Cherokee children and families in ways other than those required by their employment. 

     A letter of nomination must include the person’s name, address, employer, nominator’s name and phone number, and a one-page narrative of the nominee’s work with Cherokee children and families.  Additional information may be included such as newspaper articles, photos, support letters, etc.  Current Cherokee Boys Club Board members are exempt from nomination.

     Nomination forms may be picked up from the Cherokee Boys Club, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.  Forms can also be e-mailed upon request. Nominations should be submitted to Jeannie Arkansas, Cherokee Boys Club, PO Box 507, Cherokee, NC 28719.  If you have any questions, please call 828.497.5645.  Nominations can also be delivered to the Cherokee Boys Club at 52 Cherokee Boys Club Loop.  Please mark your nomination CONFIDENTIAL. The deadline for receiving nominations is 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 23.

     The Frell Owl Award was introduced in 1983 to recognize persons who have exemplified the character and accomplishments of the late Cherokee educator Frell Owl.  Past recipients are: John Crowe, Stella Kanott, the Crowe Family, Ray Kinsland, Pearl hand John Reagan, Betty Crisp, Jerri Kinsland, Mary Chiltoskey, Dora Reed, Marie Junaluska, Sharon and David Crowe, Ernestine Walkingstick, Jody Adams, Gary Maney, Mary Sneed, Mary Mantooth, David McCoy, Glenda Crowe, Denise Ballard, David McQueen, Skooter McCoy, Johnson “Booger” Arch, Kathy Wolfe, Carmaleta Monteith and the 2010 recipient Roy Lambert.


– Cherokee Boys Club