Tribal members place at Cherokee Homecoming art show

by Aug 31, 2011A&E, Front Page0 comments



     TAHLEQUAH, Okla. – Three EBCI tribal members won at the 16th Annual Cherokee Homecoming art show held at the Cherokee Heritage Center.  The show runs through Oct. 2.

Part of Antonio Grant's "The Union" set that won first place in the jewelry division at the Cherokee Homecoming art show. (Photos courtesy of Lisa Rutherford)

     Antonio Grant won first place in the Jewelry category with “The Union”, a carved shell set including a necklace, earrings, and bracelet. His brother, Ernest Grant, won a Judge’s Choice award for “Red Clay Reunion”, a bandolier bag that commemorates the 2009 Red Clay Reunion/Joint Council Meeting. Joel Queen received an Honorable Mention for his pottery, “Winds of Change”. Tara McCoy had some very nice entries, but did not place this year.

 Winner’s list:

Contemporary Basketry: 1st place – Shawna Cain, “Squisidi Agasga”; honorable mention – Sandra Pallie and Joann Richmond


Contemporary Pottery: 1st place – Troy Jackson, “One Man’s Legacy”; honorable mention – David Pruitt, Joel Queen and Janet Smith


Jewelry and Beadwork: 1st place – Antonio Grant, “The Union”; honorable mention – Abraham Locust and Teri Lee Rhoades


Ernest Grant's "Red Clay Reunion" beaded bandolier bag

Sculpture: 1st place – Jane Osti, “Selu”; honorable mention – Karen Berry and Janet Smith


Textiles: 1st place – Bessie Russell, “Dogwood Quilt”; Judge’s Choice – Ernest Grant, “Red Clay Reunion”; Tonia Hogner-Weavel, “Stripes”; and Rene’ Hoover, “Winter Grays”; honorable mention – Dorothy Ice


 Traditional Basketry: 1st place – Bessie Russell, untitled; Judge’s Choice – Lisa Forrest


Traditional Pottery:  1st place – Joann Richmond, “Earth, Wind and Fire”


Traditional Arts: 1st place – Rebecca Alice Wiltshire Whitwell, “Wenona’s Rattle”; honorable mention – Noel Grayson and Lisa Rutherford


Close-up shot of the back side of Ernest Grant's bag

Visual Arts: 1st place – Joseph Erb, “After the Vote”; Judge’s Choice – Dan Horsechief, “Resurgence”; honorable mention – Hilary Glass and Lori Smiley