WRESTLING: Roper gets 100th Win, Braves split meet

by Jan 19, 2011SPORTS di-ne-lv-di-yi0 comments


                 Cherokee junior John Roper got his 100th career win in high school wrestling by pinning Murphy’s Danny Shalarb at the :37 mark in the match at home on Tuesday, Jan. 18.  Roper (25-4) is currently ranked 3rd in the state according to retrorankings.com. 

                Several other Braves are also listed in the latest rankings by retrorankings.com including Tavi Rivera who is 4th in the 160lb. division and Will Bird who is 3rd in the 189lb. division. 

Cherokee’s team split Tuesday’s meet as they beat Asheville School 42-39 but lost to Murphy 37-30. 

Cherokee 42 Asheville School 39

103lb. – Jim Raynor (AS) won by forfeit

112lb. – Otto Putzrath (AS) won by forfeit

119lb. – Levi Swearengin (Ch) pinned Stuart Chae (AS) at the 2:16 mark

125lb. – Justin Parris (Ch) pinned Jules Gonsoulin (AS) at the 1:50 mark

130lb. – Cain Oocumma (Ch) won by forfeit

135lb. – Quin Thompson (AS) won by forfeit

140lb. – Colby Yanez (Ch) pinned Alex Leung (AS) at the 2:44 mark

145lb. – Sanai Meles (AS) won by decision (13-11) over Wesley Long (Ch)

152lb. – Jessica McCoy won by forfeit

160lb. – Phillip Stone (AS) won by forfeit

171lb. – Tavi Rivera (Ch) won by forfeit

189lb. – John Roper (Ch) pinned Ben Willis (AS) at the 1:32 mark

215lb. – Matt Henson (AS) won by forfeit

285lb. – Parker White (AS) pinned Raymond Taylor (Ch) at the 3:46 mark

Murphy 37 Cherokee 30

103lb. – Matt Wood (M) won by forfeit

119lb. – Levi Swearengin (Ch) pinned Ryan Dockery (M) at the 2:58 mark

125lb. – Justin Parris (Ch) won by forfeit

130lb. – Cain Oocumma (Ch) pinned Sam McCoy (M) at the 1:40 mark

140lb. – Chandler Gooch (M) won a major decision (17-4) over Colby Yanez (Ch)

145lb. – Wesley Long (Ch) pinned J.T. Cable (M) at the 1:38 mark

152lb. – John Garrett (M) pinned Jessica McCoy (Ch) at the 2:49 mark

160lb. – Jesse Beaver won a decision (6-5) over Tavi Rivera (Ch)

171lb. – John Roper (Ch) pinned Danny Shalarb (M) at the :37 mark

189lb. – Brandon Stiles (M) won by forfeit

215lb. – Cody Howard (M) won by forfeit

285lb. – Alex Craze (M) pinned Raymond Taylor (Ch) at the 1:27 mark