WRESTLING: Roper wins James Orr Memorial

by Jan 18, 2011SPORTS di-ne-lv-di-yi0 comments


                ROBBINSVILLE – Cherokee’s John Roper won the 171lb. division and was named “Outstanding Wrestler of the Tournament” at the James Orr Memorial Invitational Wrestling Tournament held Saturday, Jan. 15.  He won by decision over Robbinsville’s Logan Howarth and then went on to pin Alleghany’s Luke Hampton to go 2-0 on the day.  As a team, Cherokee took 6th place out of 10 schools participating. 

                The Braves had two wrestlers place second in their respective divisions including Cain Oocumma (130lb.) and Tavi Rivera (160lb.).  Occumma went 2-1 on the day with a decision win over Bradley Green (Swain) and a pin of Sam McCoy (Murphy).  He lost by major decision to Glen Womack of Tuscola.  Rivera went 1-1 on the day with a win by technical fall over Ryan Ball (Robbinsville) and a decision loss to Jesse Beaver (Murphy). 

                Other Braves results are as follows: 

119lb – Levi Swearengin, 4th place, 2-2 record

–          Pinned Ryan Dockery (Hayesville)

–          Was pinned by Sean Webb (Swain)

–          Won by decision over Kade Guffey (Robbinsville)

–          Was pinned by Louie Poole (Alleghany)

125lb. – Justin Parris, 1-2 record

–          Won by decision over Justin Gragg (Avery)

–          Lost by technical fall to Humberto Gracia (Alleghany)

–          Was pinned by Jeremiah Ledford (Hayesville)

140lb. – Colby Yanez, 4th place, 2-2 record

–          Lost by decision to Ryan Mash (Alleghany)

–          Pinned Zach Freeman (Avery)

–          Won by major decision over Josh Teats (Tuscola)

–          Lost by decision to Ethan Goodpastor (Robbinsville)

152lb. – Jessica McCoy, 0-1 record

–          Was pinned by Cole Maddox (Hayesville)

285lb. – Raymond Taylor, 1-2 record

–          Pinned Tim Kelley (Hayesville)

–          Was pinned by Alex Craze (Murphy)

–          Was pinned by Dillon Daniels (Robbinsville)