Lady Braves win Battle of the Border

by Jan 4, 2010SPORTS di-ne-lv-di-yi0 comments


The Cherokee Lady Braves won the Battle of the Border Basketball Classic in Landrum, SC on Wednesday, Dec. 30. (Photos courtesy of Debora Foerst)


– The Cherokee Lady Braves dismantled their opponents en route to winning the 2009 Battle of the Border Classic held Dec. 28-30.  The Lady Braves defeated Spartanburg (SC) Christian Academy 62-49 in the championship game held Wednesday, Dec. 30 and Tahnee Arkansas and Paige Jackson earned All-Tournament team honors. 

                Cherokee got things going well on the first day of the tournament as they defeated Woodruff, a North Carolina 2A school, 70-56.  Tashina Martin led the way for the Lady Braves with 16 points.  Rayna Davis had 14 points, 12 rebounds, 6 blocks, and 4 steals and Paige Jackson had 11 points, 8 rebounds and 7 steals. 

                Other Lady Braves scorers in the Woodruff game included:  Elizabeth Wahnetah 2 (10 assists), Kayla Smith 4, Celine Lambert 4, Casey Driver 5, Jordyn Thompson 13, Alexis Maney 1. 

Paige Jackson (left) and Tahnee Arkansas received All-Tournament Team honors.

               The Lady Braves kept things going in the semi-finals as they beat East Rutherford, a North Carolina 3A school, 54-41.  Tahnee Arkansas led the way with 13 points and 6 rebounds followed by Elizabeth Wahnetah with 12 points.  Paige Jackson played another pivotal role in this game having 9 points, 10 rebounds, and 4 steals. 

                Other Lady Braves scorers in the East Rutherford game included:  Celine Lambert 5 (5 steals), Rayna Davis 4, Tashina Martin 8 (5 steals), Alexis Maney 3.

                In the championship game against Spartanburg Christian, a South Carolina 3A school, Tahnee Arkansas poured in 21 points as they Lady Braves cruised to victory.  Other Cherokee scorers included:  Elizabeth Wahnetah 6 (9 assists), Paige Jackson 7, Celine Lambert 4 (4 steals), Rayna Davis 4 (8 rebounds), Tashina Martin 8, Kayla Smith 2, Jordyn Thompson 6, Trae Crowe 2.