Tribal Council Results – Thursday, Jan. 7

by Jan 7, 2016NEWS ka-no-he-da0 comments


Item held from Tuesday – EBCI Tribal Council approves the new Justice Center to be named the “Anthony Edward Lossiah Justice Center” – PASSED


Item No. 1 – Amendment to Cherokee Code Chapter Sec. 14-96.1 – Additional fine for crimes involving alcohol and controlled substances – DEEMED READ AND TABLED


Item No. 2 – Amendment to Hunting Ord. Section 113-11 – Dogs – DEEMED READ AND TABLED


Item No. 3 – Amendment to Cherokee Code Sec. 143-10 – Fire Prevention – DEEMED READ AND TABLED


Item No. 4 – Tabled Ord. No. 53 (2015) – Cherokee Code be amended to include Executive Branch and a Legislative Branch – PASSED


Item No. 5 – Tabled Ord. No. 54 (2015) – Amendments to Cherokee Code Sec. 117-31 – Planning Board – TABLED


Item No. 6 – Tabled Res. No. 59 (2015) – Tribal Council instructs the Attorney General to develop an ordinance for consideration of banishment and/or disenrollment of members manufacturing, selling and distributing drugs – TABLED


Item No. 7 – Tribal Council grants Nakoa Dean Chiltoskie right-of-way to her property known as Painttown Community Parcel No. 627-A without the signature of Flint Griffin – TABLED


Item No. 8 – Tribal Council approve the transfer from Melinda Daniel Screamer to Shenelle Antoinette Feather of Parcel No. 209 – Lot No. 3 (Adams Creek Housing Development) containing 0.44 acres, more or less – WITHDRAWN


Item No. 9 – Tribal Resolution No. 383 (2014) enacted on Nov. 6, 2014 shall be amended to assign Cherokee Community Parcel No. 96-B (Part of Parcel No. 96) containing 1.571 acres, more or less, subject to life estate for Joanna Sharp Rogers (surviving non-enrolled spouse) – PASSED


Item No. 10 – Assignment of Wolfetown Community Parcel No. 426-F (Part of Parcel No. 426-E) containing 0.333 acres, more or less – PASSED AS AMENDED


Item No. 11 – Lucy S. Reed requests that Tribal Council grant her right-of-way at her Parcel 393 through 262-M without the signatures of Caroline Winstead, Sharon Smith, Chastity Solis and Kyra Smith – PASSED


Item No. 12 – Tribal Council Travel Policy – PASSED


Item No. 13 – Tribal Council minutes be paraphrased instead of typed verbatim – PASSED


Item No. 14 – Extension of Forest Management Plan – PASSED


Item No. 15 – Appointments to Tribal Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission – TABLED


Item No. 16 – Appointment of a Cherokee Police Commission: Yellowhill – Reuben Teesatuskie, Painttown – Dave Ensley, Snowbird/Cherokee County – Abraham Wachacha, Birdtown – Slick Saunooke, Wolfetown, Big Cove – Snake Panther, At-Large – Regina Rosario, At-Large – one vacancy – PASSED AS AMENDED


Item No. 17 – Chief’s appointments to TERO for four-year terms: Roy Teesatuskie and Kevin Jackson – PASSED AS AMENDED


Item No. 18 – Tribal Council appoints one person to TERO for a two-year term: Gerri Grady – PASSED AS AMENDED


– Compiled by Scott McKie B.P./One Feather